Calm Before the Storm

June 6, 2011

After much nervousness and many anxiety dreams, I have arrived in Brooklyn! My residency at VCCA ended yesterday, June 5th, and I drove straight from there to Bushwick to unload all of the new work into my new studio at Wayfarers Brooklyn. I haven’t unpacked anything yet… there isn’t much point until I have some functional surfaces to set the tanks up on so until then I am just kind of hanging out in here. I start my new job at Wilson Conservation tomorrow, then will spend the evening building sawhorses for my first piece of studio furniture, and hopefully will be able to set the tanks up no later than Wednesday evening. They definitely have to be up and running before I leave the city for the weekend so… if I have to bust some ass to make it happen, so be it! Since I didn’t have to go in to work today as planned, and the wood for my sawhorses doesn’t arrive until tomorrow, today has been an unexpected day off to wander the neighborhood, buy a few supplies, and generally rest up and chill out before the real hustling begins. It definitely feels like the calm before the storm… And since I don’t move into my apartment until the 15th, the couch surfing makes it feel like I am still a visitor, even though I have a studio. Guess the fact that I’ve just moved to the city won’t sink in for another couple of weeks…

my beautiful new studio, filled with all the crap I could fit in my tiny car

soon to be my first piece of furniture

Leave a Reply

