Tangents

May 28, 2011

One nice thing about residencies is having the time and space to let yourself do anything–play if you will. Not that I normally ignore the urge to go off on tangents, but here you don’t have to feel as guilty about it when you do… So here’s some recent tangents:

built a funny little experimental diorama in a thrift store pitcher

though I'm not a big fan of clever art, I just thought this miniature 50 lb. bag of sugar was too funny--here it is submerged in crystal solution

this place is filled with giant bugs--constantly flying overhead and getting underfoot

every other day I come into the studio to find a new bug "trapped" in one of the pieces

these started out as technical experiments, but I realized I was thinking of them as my little pets

so now I think of them as bugs, influenced by early summer in Southwest Virginia

Leave a Reply

