VCCA!

May 3, 2011

Arrived here in Amherst yesterday afternoon–unloaded and unpacked everything (studio and room) and spent the evening setting up my studio to begin working today. The housing here is amazing–it’s like having my own hotel room–I have a balcony! Which I love, though I wish there was a cheap plastic chair I could leave out there because I intend to hang out on that balcony as much as possible… I also have my own sink, so no worries about hogging the bathroom or battling with my bathroom partner for time–we only have to share the toilet and shower. The room has tons of storage (although I don’t know for what since I only brought one small duffle bag worth of clothing), an exposed brick wall, AC, and a nice little armchair–way better than my VSC accomodations. Now all you VSC fans out there, remember, I worked there. I realize some of the rooms are huge and awesome, I just got stuck with a closet sized one. Everyone here (except one or two people) have the same setup so no room discrepancies. My studio is huge–very long, kind of skinny, which is totally fine with me. It had a ton of furniture already in it–all of it on casters, which is awesome–including a bed and there’s a shower down the hall if I wanted to crash here at any point. I also have my own slop sink, which is great because I spend a lot of time at it cleaning tanks and buckets, pots and pans. And there’s AC in my studio! So no worries about having to become nocturnal because it gets too hot, cooking in studio in the summer. It’s on a beautiful, hilly, woodsy farm with a lake/pond on one side, railroad on another, and a local route on the other with cows, horses and dogs. Nothing within walking distance, so can’t stumble home from the Hub or grab a quick slice of pizza, but as a much smaller residency (only about 20 people at a time–artists, writers and composers), it’s just a lot quieter, more focused and a more intimate setup. Enough blabbing, here’s some pics before unpacking or setting anything up:

the lovely setup in my room--storage, sink and shelves stocked with books!

bedroom with balcony!

view from my balcony

my gigantic studio--even has a slew of clamp lights

mini bedroom in my studio

Leave a Reply

