Goodbye Vermont!

April 18, 2011

Hello Virginia! Just arrived in Roanoke, Virginia yesterday evening in an aptly named Ford Escape full of studio tools and materials for my upcoming residency at VCCA. I packed the rental car in Vermont with snow still on the ground and reports of flurries to come that evening, and unpacked barefoot in Virginia surrounded by green and late spring flowers. The last couple weeks of packing, cleaning and departure partying have been pretty ridiculous–I’m happy to have survived it! It hasn’t hit me yet that I don’t live in Vermont anymore, but I’m sure over the next week or two it will slowly sink in as I am free of the office drama, meals in the dining hall, and the general fishbowl that is life at the Studio Center. I left a TON of stuff behind–I didn’t realize until it was time to pack the car and nothing fit, that my studio/artwork was one car load and my personal/apartment stuff a second car load. I tried to get rid of as much stuff as I could–studio, artwork, and personal–but I obviously did not do a very good job! In the panic of trying to get out of town at a reasonable hour, I ended up packing all my studio and leaving behind all my personal belongings. I have 1 suitcase worth of clothes, otherwise everything else will have to be picked up in June or July when I can make another trip up there to grab the rest of my stuff. Until then, I’ll be doing a lot of residency prep work for the next two weeks and then be able to dive right in when I arrive on May 2nd. Can’t wait to get started!

purging artwork

Leave a Reply

