NYC Continued…

February 23, 2011

I officially committed last night to being a part of the inaugural Verge Art Fair in DUMBO during Armory Arts Week! I submitted some work to their Open Call and they have asked me to reproduce some version of Sweet Senescence for the 4 day show in Brooklyn. It’s going to be a bit insane to re-make some of the panels (I’m thinking 4?), get new hardware for the incredibly tall 14′ concrete ceilings, transport it 6 hrs. from Johnson, VT to Brooklyn (remember? I don’t have a car…) and install/de-install. But I guess I’ve decided it will be a great experience, and now that it’s for real, I’m getting pretty excited about it! I’m still holding onto a tiny bit of hope that a friend might be able to drive me down to the city, but most likely I’ll have to rent a car one-way to drive the work down since it isn’t very shippable. Then I’ll have to convince friends in the city (who don’t have regular 9-5 jobs!) to come help with the install–and bring a ladder with them?–and somehow return the car at the same time? Who knows… but I’ll figure something out! Wish I had money to pay for all of these things….

Anyways! Wish me luck! And I’ll keep you posted as I frantically re-make Sweet Senescence in a week and plan for it’s second viewing… And if you’re in NYC, stop by the show! It will be at 20 Jay St. on the third floor, open Thurs-Sun, noon -10pm.

Inaugural Brooklyn Art Fair

Leave a Reply

