NYC etc.

February 21, 2011

I returned late last night from a great extra long weekend in New York. Due to the incredibly warm weather the first couple days and the sheer amount of activities jammed into a short amount of time, it felt like very long vacation. I completely forgot that I live in Vermont and was delightfully exhausted upon my return. The highlights were margaritas in Soho, a bad performance in Chelsea, MoMA bookstore, 65 degree weather in Central Park, arm wrestling in Tribeca, George Condo and Eugene Von Bruenchenhein, and make-your-own bloody Marys in Greenpoint. I even allowed myself the rare sleep in this morning, after sleeping through the night for the first time in months.

As for studio, my show is only 2 weeks away so I’m diving right in to resolving some pieces so I can start planning the install and placement of everything. Remember that tree tank from back in December? I finally pulled it out and am working on how it will work as an object–here’s what it looks like right now:

sugared tree, ready to be integrated into a sculpture

detail of sugar crystals on dead baby pine tree

I also added a few completed images of the raw wool objects to my website, so be sure to check those out:

the series is named sessilia, after an order of barnacles

One Response to “NYC etc.”

  1. Ani Says:

    I Love the tree!! Can’t wait to see pictures from your last VSC show.


Leave a Reply

