Week 40 of 48

November 10, 2010

I’ve been out of town traveling again, which is why this post is a few days later than usual. Rather than get into studio stuff, I’d like to use this post to officially announce that I’ve decided to stay at VSC for a few extra months. This might sound crazy to those of you who know how hard my time here has been (the count-down nature of this blog from week 1 is case in point…), but I’m looking forward to having a few more months to push one more big show/project and to making a little extra money to move with, before packing up for the next thing life has in store for me. I’m technically scheduled to install another show in the Red Mill a week from today–which is insane as I am not anywhere near ready for it and have done nothing to prepare for it in terms of announcing it, making show cards, etc. I think I’m approaching it more as an opportunity to continue my photography efforts in a nicer space and just to get some things out of the studio with some space to really look at and think about them. It will also force me to make some decisions about how to present certain items that have been sitting in the studio for months, waiting for me to figure out what to do with them. So I think I’m going to move forward with it anyways without making too big of a deal out of it. Then I can schedule one last show for March (I will leave VSC late March/early April) to round out my time here.

That’s all for now! Next week I’ll post some in progress shots and I’m getting closer to having the website refresh done so I might be able to post that soon as well. I’m going to continue to write once a week until the initial year (48 weeks) is up. After that, I’m thinking of doing this a little less regularly since it doesn’t feel as important anymore to mark my time here. I’ll probably go back to just posting things whenever something especially exciting is happening…

Leave a Reply

