Week 20 of 48

June 22, 2010

I’ve made a lot of progress on the show this week, which is great, but I don’t think I’m ready to share yet. I can’t give too much away ahead of time. What I’m planning is very different from what I’ve been showing here over the last 4-5 months… Hopefully different in a good way! In the meantime, I think I will share a little of how out of control studio is these days. With summer going full steam ahead, everything is melting at an unbelievable rate. Making successful casts is becoming more and more difficult as the candy never reaches a completely hardened cool state and instead, immediately begins to melt into a sticky goo. I might actually have to set the casting aside until fall or winter when studio cools off a little. Being on the second floor of an un-air-conditioned building means it is never cooler than 85 degrees. Add to that the fact that I am also cooking and using blow torches…

wall of melting candy and pools on the floor

there used to be a pair of gems here...

a diamond melting in the heat of the studio

diamond slumping in the heat despite an armature to keep it upright

a strung up diamond barely hanging on

One Response to “Week 20 of 48”

  1. ariel Says:

    those little melty ones are so cute!
    it’s great to see the time-lapse video, too. can’t wait to see the ones from your show xo


Leave a Reply

