Week 18 of 48 (4 Months!)

June 7, 2010

Last week was my 100th blog post and I meant to do something special for it but totally forgot! Though it is a week late, I would still like to do something for it now. I’m thinking maybe a review of favorite posts or meaningful moments captured on the blog over the last 3 years. Is that too meta? A blog that reviews itself? In any case, it all began in January of 2007 when I found out I won the Sitings Competition at the Museum of Art, RISD and knew I would need a time based means of capturing the creation, birth, life and death of that piece. It may still be my favorite work to date, one that I fear I may never be able to “top“, but I’m not here to compete with myself, right? Mark Morris had some great things to say about the artist competing with self and I try to keep those words close… I’m here to make the work that needs making. A few favorites from those six months:

Sitings Proposal: I blame this proposal for starting me down this path that I have yet to turn back from…

Things Ive Learned So Far: the first of these that I try to do with every project. Working on my first show EVER with an institution was a real eye opener…

Opening Part I: the opening was just sooooo great. Shockingly well attended and incredible to see my work next to  historical masterpieces…

The End: the bittersweet end…

After Sitings (and graduation) was over, I didn’t do anything art related for a year. I managed to launch my website that summer, but that was as much for the purpose of landing a job (if not more so) as it was about the art and so when I landed said job, art making went out the window for a while. But I missed it during that year and thought about it all the time. Almost exactly a year later, I started searching for a ceramic studio where I might be able to make a piece about teeth that I’d been thinking about for a while. It was a long search as most studios don’t allow mold-making for slip-casting, but eventually I found the Harvard Ceramic Program, where I began working part time in addition to the design job to help fund the cost of a class that would allow access to the facilities. That fall I saw the RISD New England Alum call for entries and decided to apply on a whim, thinking it would be a good way to give myself a deadline for this tooth project. In the end, I proposed something extremely site-specific and the teeth project had to be put on hold for what became Post-Processualism. A few favorites from those three months:

Cracks, Recycling and Cats: this one cracks me up (terrible pun) because the death of the slab roller was one of MANY disasters throughout this project. Reading back through them reminds me of what a roller coasters this whole project was…

Frames Part 2: collecting frames from thrift stores was one of my favorite parts of this project as it gave me access to all this terrible “art,“ which became a fixture in our house for a while…

Installation: I mostly like this one for the video. The cracking and popping of the stacked tiles was the most amazing part of the whole piece, and no one saw it or heard it but me…

Unemployed!: I selected this one for the deinstallation process, which was really poignant for this piece, but love that it also talks about having quit my design job at the same time… and how it ends with the unknowingness of what to do with the piece, but also my life in general…

And, well, it all went downhill from there! Quit the design job, started working at a bakery, took on more hours at Harvard and finally launched into the tooth project that I had then been thinking about for 2 years. Nine months later, Vestigial Organs emerged:

Teeth Stories: the birth of teeth stories, which I need to get back up off the ground… VSC would be a great chance to collect a lot more stories…

Sculpture Residency!: of course this one because thats when I found out I would be going to VSC, something that would unknowingly change everything, but also because I love the scale in the image of the real tooth next to the modeled tooth—that tooth would become the SMALLEST of all the teeth in Vestigial Organs

Production Mode: because nothing beats that moment when the mold-making is done and you can just go into full on production-mode

Cut Paper Wedding Cake: unrelated but just such a fun project and gift to a forever childhood friend…

((De)Re)Install: A Trip to Rhode Island: mostly because of the insanity of taking Vestigial Organs down the day after putting it up for the first time, driving it to RI and installing it again. As usual I am horribly indebted to wonderful friends for helping with this…

And finally it was time for what was supposed to be a month long vacation in Vermont. To be totally honest, working with candy started out as a joke during a discussion with friends debating what to work on before leaving Boston, but the more I thought about it, the more I liked it and I figured it was only a month—why not do something really fun and out there? I could always come back to teeth when I got back to Boston since I still had a lot of ideas about them… As usual, nothing comes out as you intend in life, and so here I am, still working with candy six months later and living full-time in Vermont. As of yet, nothing has “emerged“ from my time here, but I did schedule my first show in the Red Mill Gallery so I will have to put something together for that. It is in six weeks so it may be a bit of a crunch, but hopefully I can pull something interesting together by then. I will post the dates as soon as they are finalized, but for now it will be around July 12th—20th if any of you can make it up to see it.

I know this is silly and cheesy, but I have to dedicate this 101st entry to Matt. Because you were there for all of it.

Leave a Reply

