Week 10 of 52 at VSC

April 11, 2010

It’s finally warming up here in Johnson, VT, though not very consistently. Last weekend we got a taste of summer and most of the following week was gorgeous as well—even the rainy days were beautiful. I bring this up not out of a need for small talk but because it’s adding a little pressure to the work in studio. Candy is melting and I’m not necessarily ready for it! So far everything has remained totally in tact all winter without much effort on my part and now that it’s warm enough for things to melt of their own accord, I need to prepare myself and my studio for it. I’m going to have to start working in a much more planned and purposeful way; gems are sticking to their shelves, detritus all over the floor is attaching itself permanently and stringy experiments are disappearing entirely. Luckily (or I guess not luckily but intentionally), I’ve been thinking a lot about various plans for all of this so I don’t feel totally unprepared… I guess it’s just funny to me that the catalyst for all of this is going to end up being the weather! It’s looking like the approaching spring will be what lights a fire under my slacking butt…

I borrowed an empty studio across the hall for a week or two to expand into the 2nd dimension...

Spent a day or two playing around with the idea of candy drawings

So far this one is the most interesting to me...

Not sure where these are headed yet, but they were super fun!

Once I've had a little more time to think about these, I will try another round...

One Response to “Week 10 of 52 at VSC”

  1. kseverny Says:

    thats quite a cool effect


Leave a Reply

