Week 1 of 52 at VSC

February 7, 2010

What a week. It could not have been any more of a roller coaster ride, even if I was trying to make it so. I won’t bore you with the details of the weeks drama, except to say that the death of a far-too-young friend has added new perspective to all that is going on in my own life. It seems more important than ever to consider how we use our short time on this planet. Life is too short and too precious to be unhappy or to let things pass you by. Despite the emotional throw down, I am here and that is most important. Unfortunately, I am not quite ready to go, but only because I am on the brink of being sick AGAIN and so might not really dive in until later in the week when I am feeling 100% again. In any case, I moved up with lots of amazing help on Satuday, immediately began work by driving to the train station in Waterbury that night to pick up a slew of new residents and had all of Sunday off to concentrate on unpacking. I worked in the office Monday through Wednesday, orienting myself to the location of files, the processes and the people who will be my coworkers for the next year. Other than a webinar on social media, Thursday through Sunday was all free time to get settled into the studio and begin picking up where I left off at the end of December. I hired one of the maintenance crew to build a loft in my studio, which is amazing and spent a LOT of time just cleaning the place up, trying to make it feel as fresh and new as possible before I start messing it up. I also attended the first Visiting Writer Reading, which was by Van Jordan and the first Resident Writer Reading, which showcased 4 current residents’ work. Anyways, here are a few images from my first week here…

Not quite from this week, but this is a years worth of sculpture packed up and ready for storage—porcelain teeth and sheets. Thanks Chris!

Not quite from this week, but this is a years worth of sculpture packed up and ready for storage—porcelain teeth and sheets. Thanks Chris!

New loft full of stuff!! Thanks Dave!

All clean and ready to go in Barbara White

I grew these in December and then left them at VSC in storage until now

They got shaken up by a certain visiting artist but still turned out like mini diamonds in the end

Leave a Reply

