Home

December 20, 2009

I obviously did not come even vaguely close to completing my goal of writing a blog entry a day. I managed exactly two weeks of consistent entries and then it seemed like all hell broke loose for the last two weeks! I found myself going into a crazed sort of panic mode wrestling with what I could actually finish before we had to pack up and go home. I also didn’t actually complete my work goals either, but I’m OK with that since the new ideas are much stronger than the original anyways. At a certain point, it became more important to spend as much time with people as possible since I knew the work would continue after the month was over, but time with this group would not.  So if I wasn’t working in studio, I was socializing with everyone and writing dropped dramatically on the priority list. To make matters worse, things got extra complex when I had a staff member inform me of a job opening and strongly urge me to consider applying for it. Days were lost debating whether moving to Johnson VT was something I could or should do at this point and torturing over what it would mean for the life I had set up in Boston. Great new apartment, great new neighborhood, cat, partner, great job at Harvard with great people… And before I knew it, it was the last week and we were all in shock regarding the rapidly approaching end. So many new attachments and friends that seemed impossible to let go of, not to mention the facilities and continuous access to coffee and food. How will we all stay in touch and will we ever see each other again? It didn’t take long for a sad aura to settle on the group as we thought more seriously about the end of our time at VSC. There were tons of scheduled events, parties, shows and other means of socializing to help battle the growing depression. But as all things must, it did end and I find myself back in Boston, torn between reminiscing on all the wonderful and crazy moments and people and thinking about the future that awaits me. Two days before we all packed up to leave, I was officially offered the job as a staff artist, to stay in Vermont year round with a studio, housing, 3 meals a day, access to all the facilities and visiting artists, in exchange for graphic design work in the office. I accepted on the spot. By then, I had had plenty of time to decide that having time, space and focus to make work is exactly what I need at this point in my attempts at some sort of “art career.“ Leaving Boston will be incredibly hard, but I can always come back after my year committment is over—the city won’t be going anywhere, only I will.

The studio at the end of the month, before I started cleaning up...

One Response to “Home”

  1. Lee Says:

    I have not read your blog in a shockingly long time. First, wow, Melissa, your tooth installation was fantastic. Hauntingly beautiful and strange. Loved it! Congrats on your decision to move to Vermont. I’m so happy you’re following your heart and finally doing sculpture. I remember a young Melissa freshman year of college telling me she just wanted to do sculpture.
    You’re always inspiring and I’m glad I can keep up with you through the internets.
    With love,
    Lee


Leave a Reply

