Untitled 9 (People)

December 2, 2009

We have had some amazing presentations this week by painter and sculptor, Carrie Moyer and Sheila Pepe, plus great presentations from fellow residents last week. The first batch of fine artist slide shows occurred last Wednesday and they were great! It was so much fun to see peoples’ work, hear them speak, and start to figure out what everyone is into. I can’t wait to see the rest of the artists work! Then Sunday night was the first reading session for the writers and that was wonderful as well. Some really incredible work coming out of my colleagues, artists and writers both! I’m so excited for the writers to publish their novels, essays and poems so I can go out and buy them, read them at home, and share them with friends. I’m not even slightly exaggerating on this—the work is soooo good!

A tradition at residencies, to sign your studio door frame with name and date in residence so the space has its own history of people working within

My studio mate across the hall, Tiffany, bought me this amazing ribbon candy...

Tiffany and Avantika, two of this months most influential social lubricators. I don’t actually have a picture of Tiffany but she has been working in food recently so it seems fitting that I would have a studio next to her… I would say they did this on purpose but I had no idea I would end up working in candy when I mailed in my studio request form…

Avantika, out my window, photographing the travelling stool she painted

I have to say though, it’s also a little intimidating. I’ve realized that a lot, possibly even the majority, of the artists already have MFAs or are in grad school now and REALLY have their shit figured out. They know what their art is about, why they do it, what they are trying to explore, etc. etc. They have bodies of work, are investigating specific themes and know how to articulate what the work is all about. Also, everyone calls everything “the work“, not “my work“ or “your work“ but THE work. Is this something I need to get into the habit of doing? Regardless of “the work“, this place is full of incredibly talented, fun and open people. Somehow I’ve found that it’s incredibly easy to share, chat or just hang out with pretty much everyone here. What is in the air here that makes this work? Even though everyone is a crazy character in one way or another, it works amazingly well… And there’s so much creative energy floating around; even if you don’t see peoples’ work or their studios, you just know it’s happening…

Leave a Reply

