Post Show & Sale Post

June 17, 2009

OK, so I lied about getting all caught up on the blogging while visiting my family and friends in Virginia…  In fact, I didn’t even manage to do much of anything AFTER returning from Virginia…  What can I say, I’ve been lazy, unmotivated and uninspired for nearly a month… but now I’m back!!

So lets jump right in with some photos from the Show & Sale…

I chose to do the least you can do: share a bank of shelves with another person

I chose to do the least you can do: share a bank of shelves with another person

My top shelf was all the framed pieces from Post-Processualism and the middle shelf all teeth

My top shelf was all the framed pieces from Post-Processualism and the middle shelf all teeth

The night before, I experimented with watercolor and wax

The night before, I experimented with watercolor and wax

And I LOVE the results!!  I'm definitely planning on doing more with the wax/watercolor combo

And I LOVE the results!! I'm definitely planning on doing more with the wax/watercolor combo

This was a glaze fusion accident that I really like, so I showed a mix of traditionally glazed pieces and waxed/watercolored pieces

This was a glaze fusion accident that I really like, so I showed a mix of traditionally glazed pieces and waxed/watercolored pieces

In terms of sales, I ended up selling 3 pieces, which to be honest was unbelievably shocking since the show and sale is overwhelmingly dominated by pots and people looking for pots…  I was really planning on just showing them, not actually selling any so to have 3 teeth walk out the door was crazy to me!!  I only sold raw porcelain pieces; since I had just watecolored/waxed them the day before, I wasn’t willing to risk parting with any waxed or glazed ones yet so they were all marked Not For Sale.

Next up, I fnally took some “real” (ish) photographs of all the teeth after the sale so I will post them soon.  In the meantime, a little gem taken at the studio today:

The first successful cast of the largest tooth to date was born today--it's baby-sized!

The first successful cast of the largest tooth to date was born today--it's baby-sized!

Leave a Reply

