Sculpture Residency!!

May 14, 2009

Oh!  And I got a residency!!  I got the official acceptance letter today (even though I’ve known about it for a few weeks now) with the handbook and request for a deposit.  Of course it has to cost money, which is most unfortunate, but they’ve agreed to pay for half through grant aid and work study, so I figure I ought to be able to save up the rest.  It isn’t until November, so I have plenty of time to prepare for it (which is really good–if it was this summer as I’d originally hoped, I wouldn’t be ready for it!!) and it’s at the Vermont Studio Center in Johnston, VT.  I’ll be going for sculpture for a month from November 22-December 18.  It’s sort of unfortunate that it falls on Thanksgiving, but seeing as I don’t really go home for the holiday anyways (VA is pretty far to travel for only a weekend), I don’t really mind.  And winter in Vermont will just mean that there really isn’t anything else to do except concentrate on my work, and isn’t that the whole point of a residency?  So I’m pretty psyched about that.  I didn’t have to specify any plans about how I want to spend my time there, but I’ve got a few ideas…  so we’ll see where I’m actually at when November rolls around…

And since I went ahead and started a new entry, I might as well try to do some catch up work:

3 "Mini" teeth, Blue box of real wisdom teeth (donated by Casey--thanks Casey!!), and beginning of a new "giant" tooth

3 "Mini" teeth, Blue box of real wisdom teeth (donated by Casey--thanks Casey!!), and beginning of a new "giant" tooth

Finished "giant" tooth, realistically modeled after oe of Casey's wisdom teeth--pictured side by side to give a sense of scale

Finished "giant" tooth, realistically modeled after one of Casey's wisdom teeth--pictured side by side to give a sense of scale

Completed mold of Casey's wisdom tooth

Completed 3-part mold of Casey's wisdom tooth

First successful porcelain cast of Casey's wisdom tooth

First successful porcelain cast of Casey's wisdom tooth

"Mini" teeth glazed and waiting for their turn in the Cone 10 Reduction Kiln... sadly none of these survived, they all melted into a disastrous pile

"Mini" teeth glazed and waiting for their turn in the Cone 10 Reduction Kiln... sadly none of these survived, they all melted into a disastrous pile

Tooth on a post, waiting for Cone 10 Reduction Kiln--I promise I'll tell the story of the ruined teeth soon... the wound is still a little too raw, even after all these weeks...

Tooth on a post, waiting for Cone 10 Reduction Kiln--I promise I'll tell the story of the ruined teeth soon... the wound is still a little too raw, even after all these weeks...

I’ve also been working on some EVEN BIGGER teeth than the biggest ones pictured here.  Two have been modeled and molded, but not cast yet so… hopefully they will all work as intended.  I’m finishing up the last of them this weekend and will test cast them after I return from VA in another week and a half so stay tuned for more on those… Plus the horrific glaze kiln disaster story, and pics of the new waxed teeth that I’m loving!  I haven’t actually photographed any of them yet (hopefully they won’t all be sold before I have a chance!), so I’ll try to do a lot of that this weekend before leaving the city.  So don’t touch that dial!  I’ll be right back with more…

2 Responses to “Sculpture Residency!!”

  1. ryan Says:

    wow! those teeth are awesome! I have more stories about teeth! I’ll be posting next week sometime…I think. Or the next time you’re on gchat I can just tell you. That would be easier.


  2. […] Sculpture Residency!: of course this one because thats when I found out I would be going to VSC, something that would unknowingly change everything, but also because I love the scale in the image of the real tooth next to the modeled tooth—that tooth would become the SMALLEST of all the teeth in Vestigial Organs […]


Leave a Reply

