Final Count

January 6, 2009

OK, so I lied about concentrating this post on the printing process–too much to do!  I can’t seem to make enough time tonight for an actually informative entry, so instead I’m posting some photos and then getting back to work immediately!  I unloaded my final kiln this evening, so I have an approximate final count…  can you guess how many from the photos?

I haven't officially counted, but based on the foam sheets I've been using to pad them, which come in boxes of 100...

I haven't officially counted, but based on the foam sheets I've been using to pad them, which come in boxes of 100...

Drum roll please...

Drum roll please...

265!!!
Not too shabby I guess.  Of course, most, if not all, will break during their installation into the space so there won’t be much left to look at after the fact… It’s nice to see it all together now–I’ll try to get some photos during daylight since they will never exist like this again after this week.
And since I promised this a couple days ago and never actually posted it, some images of that old test tile of the cover page.  The previous image was before it had been fired, so the toner was still very black…
All of the black in the toner burns out and what's left is the rust red iron...

All of the black in the toner burns out and what's left is the rust red iron...

The same test piece, mounted to a sheet of glass... I broke the tile through my own careless mishandling...

The same test piece, mounted to a sheet of glass... I broke the tile through my own careless mishandling...

And one last closing shot for the night–various parts of the project taking over the entire apartment..
The other half of the room is equally bad, if not worse...

The other half of the room is equally bad, if not worse...

For realz, tomorrow will be about printing.  Stay tuned.

One Response to “Final Count”

  1. shanalines Says:

    i can’t wait to see it!


Leave a Reply

