Frames, Part 2

January 4, 2009

As promised, here’s more framing documentation.  There was a series of really fantastic oil paintings of scary clowns that looked like someone took them very seriously when they painted them, but they didn’t have glass in them so sadly I left them at the thrift store… next time, I’m coming back for you scary clowns.

From Blacksburg, VA titled "Dover Castle" and dated '89

From Blacksburg, VA titled "Dover Castle" and dated '89

From a "Cheap Chic" store in Allston, MA

From a "Cheap Chic" store in Allston, MA

From Kohl's, still with its expensive price-tag ($40!)

From Kohl's, still with its expensive price-tag ($40!)

Boy with bucket of puppies

Boy with bucket of puppies--there's something kind of sinister about this one...

Unopened Cherry Cola

Unopened Cherry Cola

Not sure what this is... photo of a metal elephant/god statue?

Not sure what this is... photo of a metal elephant/god statue?

Whale tale--I opened this one up to find it's actually an image from a calendar!  Someone loved their calendar enough to frame it...!

Whale tale--I opened this one up to find it's actually an image from a calendar! Someone loved their calendar enough to frame it...!

A hand-painted beauty from Blacksburg, VA.  Frame is falling apart in a really bad way but I'm sure I can still use some part of it

A hand-painted beauty from Blacksburg, VA. Frame is falling apart in a really bad way but I'm sure I can still use some part of it

A Winslow Homer print from the Met--looks pretty ancient...  also found in Blacksburg

A Winslow Homer print from the Met--looks pretty ancient... also found in Blacksburg

I think that’s all for now.  I loaded and fired my last kiln today–scary!  But good too.  It’ll be nice to stay out of studio for a while in order to concentrate on printing everything.  Hand rolling the tiles might not take a lot longer than using the slab roller, but it is exhausting!  I’ve been pretty incapable of getting much else done so hopefully from now on, finishing the rest will be much easier.  Of course, I’m technically supposed to start installing tomorrow… but that’s not happening so no use worrying about it!  I meet Dina and Dan at the space on Tuesday night to finalize the layout of everything so I will begin installing after that meeting.  If I just spend a couple hours installing each night after work, I should be fine with having it all ready by Thurs/Friday–worse comes to worse, I’ll take a day off work to wrap everything up.

Also, if anyone is especially inspired by these prints and paintings, let me know!  For now they are in my living room, but soon they will have to go somewhere… most likely the trash…

Tomorrow’s entry will be focused on the printing process.

One Response to “Frames, Part 2”


  1. […] Frames Part 2: collecting frames from thrift stores was one of my favorite parts of this project as it gave me access to all this terrible “art,“ which became a fixture in our house for a while… […]


Leave a Reply

