Storage

December 13, 2008

Okidokie.  So, things have been quite insane this week.  The installation has gone though some serious changes–long story short, I’m not hanging anything from the ceiling anymore.  At first I was really upset by this idea, but after a lot of re-evaluating and debating, I’m happy with the new solution.  In a lot of ways, the piece will be conceptually stronger, but it is a huge change from what I was originally envisioning so it may take a while for me to wrap my head around it.  Work ground to a halt this week while I waited to see what the final conclusion would be and now I need to switch gears and write myself a new action plan to figure out how to get it all done in time.  I’m not going to give away the changes yet, but I’m sure over the next couple weeks, bits and pieces will emerge.  Thankfully all the work I’ve done up till now is still appropriate so I don’t have to start over or throw out the last three weeks of labor.  On that note, I’ll pick up where I left off earlier this week.  Storage…
My only personal storage space in studio

My only personal storage space in studio--I'm the top shelf...

Because I’m a huge dork, this was probably one of the most thrilling discoveries I’ve encountered so far.  Storage and transportation was/is a huge issue–these tiles are sooooo fragile–if I pick them up wrong, they break, if I store them wrong, they break, if I fire them wrong, they break, etc. etc.  The most stable way to store them is flat, but since that takes up way more space than the studio or my apartment has, I had to find an alternative.  So I spent my first weekend thinking about it and… Drum roll please…

Storage and transportation all in one!

Storage and transportation all in one!

Boxes in studio full of greenware tiles waiting to be fired...

Boxes in studio full of greenware tiles waiting to be fired...

Hanging File Boxes!  Woohoo!  Genius, I know.  Being the dork that I am, I was like, ‘yeah!  I’ll store them in these boxes, since they’re made for paper, and they’ll have these documents on them, and I can organize them with tabs and stuff like real files, it’ll be awesome!’  Coming from the girl who has had dreams about filing… sad, but true.  You have to admit though, it’s perfect.  So now when I fill up all the shelves in studio, I can let them sit for 12-24 hours until they’re bone dry, then file them away until firing time!  After they’ve been fired, they go straight back into the boxes to be transported home where the transferring of the text/image takes place.  It’s a little too good to be true.  Of course, a full box weighs a ton, but it’s just too easy to deny.  It’ll be great when installation day rolls around and I can just show up with a ton of these boxes and start pulling “files” out left and right.  Love it.

Printed in reverse, waiting to be transferred

Documents printed in reverse, waiting to be transferred

Leave a Reply

