Never Enough

December 4, 2008

As if juggling the day job of exhibit design with the creation of this installation for the Arsenal wasn’t enough, I have also been asked to design graphics for windows in downtown Boston!  A new Melting Pot restraunt was recently opened in the Boston Park Plaza Hotel on Arlington St. and the marketing agency in charge of decorating the windows has asked me to act as designer and project manager.  I am so thrilled by the new opportunity, but wow, could the timing be any crazier?  Outside of my 40 hours at EG and 3 hours a week assisting Nancy Selvage, I was basically spending every moment I could in the ceramic studio building the elements necessary for the Arsenal show.  Now I’m throwing window styling into the mix!  But how could I say no?  I think it will be a really fun project and of course there is the potential that it will turn into a regular job as they are considering changing out the graphics seasonally and would need me to design and install something new each time.  Thankfully the project isn’t too huge.  It’s about 24 windows, but they are all flat–no space for 3D work or visual merchandising–so we’ve been discussing custom cut vinyl with a holiday theme.  It’s a bit late to go all out with a Christmas theme (although it’s looking like they are hoping to still have the graphics up before the holidays) so I’ll probably do some concepts with a wintery theme and maybe a couple “Christmas” elements that can be changed out really easily after the holiday passes.  So exciting! 

Since I haven’t been able to make the time to write a proper entry about the installation yet, I’m going to start here by posting some photos of both venues–the Arsenal Center for the Arts and the Melting Pot windows.  Hopefully I will be able to post some entries about the process of working with the porcelain in the next few days since that is well under way by now, and eventually more information about the new windows project!

The approach to the Center for the Arts

The approach to the Center for the Arts

The interior of the Arsenal, looking up the stairs at a crazy sail installation

The interior of the Arsenal, looking up the stairs at a crazy sail installation

Another view looking at the primary stairwell towards the exit/entry

Another view looking at the primary stairwell towards the exit/entry

Having discussed the location of the installation with curator Dina Deitsch only in e-mails, I’m still not exactly sure where or how my piece will be incorporated into this space, but it will be located somewhere within this central space.  I’m hoping we can work out something where it will still be “cloud-like” but maybe in a vertical format connecting the multiple floors together where the sails are hanging now.  Hopefully we’ll sort this out soon since there are only a couple weeks until the install and I still haven’t built any of the hardware yet!  I’ve been waiting for them to respond with a time to meet up to discuss exactly how this will work since I can’t build any of the hardware until I know where it’s going!

And lastly, a few shots I took this morning of the Melting Pot/Boston Plaza Hotel windows.  They seem so empty!  A perfect blank slate upon which I can go crazy…

First set of windows on Arlington St.

First set of windows on Arlington St.

Second set of Arlington St. windows

Second set of Arlington St. windows

Last three smaller sets of windows

Last three smaller sets of windows

Leave a Reply

